ClubFCNY-Lehrer im Rampenlicht - Brian Allred

Flute Center of New York  Geschenke:
 

ClubFCNY Lehrer-Spotlight-Interview 

Nutzung anderer künstlerischer Disziplinen zur Information Ihres Flötenunterrichts mit Brian Allred

16. Dezember 2021, 5 Uhr ET
Videointerview mit Alex Xeros pErinnern an Facebook und Youtube
--
Brian Allred

Der Altus-Künstler Brian Allred genießt ein abwechslungsreiches Repertoire als Solist, mit Orchestern und als Kammermusiker. Er gewann den ersten Platz und die beste Aufführung des neu in Auftrag gegebenen Werks bei der Myrna W. Brown Artist Competition 2019 in Texas und erhielt außerdem Spitzenpreise bei der South Carolina Flute Society Young Artist Competition und der Contemporary Performance Competition bei den Cortona Sessions for New Music in Cortona, Italien. Brian trat in der Weill Recital Hall der Carnegie Hall als Gewinner des ersten Preises bei den Golden Classical Music Awards auf. Er war auch Preisträger beim Young Artist Competition der Upper Midwest Flute Association und Finalist beim Byron Hester Flute Competition. Im November 2019 trat Brian als Solist mit dem Sioux City Symphony Orchestra auf und spielte Kaija Saariahos Aile du songe. Brian ist derzeit Soloflötist des Sioux City Symphony Orchestra, Flötist im Additive Color Ensemble und Mitglied des New Music Advisory Committee der National Flute Association. Er unterrichtet Flöte und Musiktheorie an der University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire.

Brian schloss seinen Doktor der Musikwissenschaften an der University of Kansas ab, wo er als Graduate Teaching Assistant für Flöte arbeitete und bei Michael Gordon vom Kansas City Symphony und Dr. Sarah Frisof studierte. Er erhielt seinen Master of Music vom Birmingham Conservatoire im Vereinigten Königreich. Neben seinem Studium und seinen Auftritten in Birmingham entwickelte Brian ein Interesse an Barockflöte und gewann den ersten Preis des Corton-Hyde Early Music Prize. Während seines Grundstudiums an der Crane School of Music der SUNY Potsdam trat Brian regelmäßig mit einer Reihe von Ensembles auf, darunter das Orchestra of Northern New York, Northern Symphonic Winds und in der Avery Fisher Hall in New York City mit dem Crane Symphony Orchestra.

Brian stammt aus Plano, TX, und verbrachte seine prägenden Jahre als Musiker, der in der Schule sowohl Geige als auch Flöte spielte. Während seiner Zeit in Potsdam, NY, entwickelte er eine Liebe zum Tanz und nutzte sein musikalisches Wissen als Choreograf und Performer. Brian baut sein Engagement in der Kunst weiter aus und erkundet neue Wege, um seine Arbeit einem neuen Publikum zugänglich zu machen.

ClubFCNY Teacher Spotlight - Brian Allred

Flute Center of New York  presents:
 

ClubFCNY Teacher Spotlight Interview 

Using Other Artistic Disciplines to Inform Your Flute Teaching with Brian Allred

December 16, 2021, 5PM ET
Video interview with Alex Xeros premiering on Facebook and Youtube
--
Brian Allred

Altus Artist Brian Allred enjoys a varied repertoire as a soloist, with orchestras, and as a chamber musician. He won first place and best performance of the newly commissioned work in the 2019 Myrna W. Brown Artist Competition in Texas and also received top prizes in the South Carolina Flute Society Young Artist Competition and the Contemporary Performance Competition at the Cortona Sessions for New Music in Cortona, Italy. Brian performed in the Weill Recital Hall at Carnegie Hall as a First Prize Winner in the Golden Classical Music Awards. He has also been a prizewinner in the Upper Midwest Flute Association Young Artist Competition and a finalist in the Byron Hester Flute Competition. In November 2019, Brian appeared as a soloist with the Sioux City Symphony Orchestra, performing Kaija Saariaho's Aile du songe. Brian currently serves as Principal Flute of the Sioux City Symphony Orchestra, flutist in the Additive Color Ensemble, and on the New Music Advisory Committee with the National Flute Association. He teaches flute and music theory at the University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire.

Brian completed his Doctor of Musical Arts degree at the University of Kansas where he served as the flute Graduate Teaching Assistant and studied with Michael Gordon of the Kansas City Symphony and Dr. Sarah Frisof. He received his Master of Music from Birmingham Conservatoire in the United Kingdom. In addition to his studies and performing in Birmingham, Brian developed an interest in Baroque flute and won first prize in the Corton-Hyde Early Music Prize. During his undergraduate study at the Crane School of Music at SUNY Potsdam, Brian performed regularly with a number of ensembles including the Orchestra of Northern New York, Northern Symphonic Winds, and at Avery Fisher Hall in New York City with the Crane Symphony Orchestra.

Hailing from Plano, TX, Brian spent his formative years as a musician playing both violin and flute in school. During his time in Potsdam, NY, he developed a love for dance, embracing his musical knowledge as a choreographer and performer. Brian continues to expand his involvement in the arts, exploring new avenues for sharing his work with new audiences.