Jasmin-Choi-Meisterklasse

  
Flute Center of New York  Geschenke:
 

Jasmin Choi

Jasmin-Choi-Meisterklasse
Premiere am 18. Februar 2022, 5 Uhr ET
on Facebook und Youtube
--

Die Flötistin Jasmine Choi ist eine der gefeiertsten Flötistinnen unserer Zeit, bekannt für ihre Virtuosität und raffinierte Musikalität sowie ihre abenteuerlichen Projekte. Sie ist weltweit in einer Vielzahl von Genres aufgetreten, von klassischem Solo, Kammermusik und Orchester bis hin zu Experimental, Jazz und Pop.

Als ehemalige Soloflötistin der Wiener Symphoniker unter Fabio Luisi und stellvertretende Solistin des Cincinnati Symphony unter Paavo Jarvi trat Frau Choi als Solistin mit den Wiener Symphonikern, dem Salzburger Mozarteum, dem Philadelphia Orchestra, dem Cincinnati Symphony, den St.Petersburg Philharmonic, Tschechien auf Philharmonic, Salzburg Mozart Players, Berliner Symphoniker, New York Classical Players, Seoul Philharmonic, Orchestra Ensemble Kanazawa sowie Recitals in Paris, Wien, London, München, Genf, New York, Tokio, Seoul und Hongkong.

Ihre unendliche Neugier hat sie auch dazu veranlasst, ihre eigenen Arrangements bedeutender Werke zu erstellen, darunter die Violinkonzerte von Mendelssohn und Tschaikowsky, sowie neue Werke lebender Komponisten aufzuführen. Sie hat zahlreiche Arrangements von ihr über die Theodore Presser Company veröffentlicht und mehr als 10 für sie geschriebene Flötenkonzerte uraufgeführt.

Frau Choi war in drei aufeinanderfolgenden Saisons (2018-2021) Artist-in-Residence der New York Classical Players und diente in der Saison zum 40-jährigen Jubiläum als Artist-in-Residence im Sejong Arts Center in Seoul.

Sie hat mehrere Solo-CDs unter dem Label Sony Classical aufgenommen, darunter Mozart Flute Concertos, Fantasy (Virtuoso Flute Works), Claude Bolling Jazz Suite, Mozart Flute Quartets, Werke von Brahms, Schumann, Reinecke. Weitere Aufnahmen sind Telemann Fantasies, Love in Paris (aus einem Live-Konzert), Trio Joy (freie Improvisation) und drei Einzelalben, darunter ihr Arrangement von Paganinis Caprice No.24, Clarkes Great Train Race und Reicherts Encore Solo.

Seit dem Ausbruch der COVID-19-Pandemie hat Frau Choi damit begonnen, Lehrvideos für fortgeschrittene Flötisten auf YouTube zu teilen, mit jungen Pianisten zusammenzuarbeiten und sie vorzustellen, um ihre Karriere anzukurbeln, und führende klassische Musiker per Live-Streaming zu interviewen und aufgezeichnete Videos.

Im Mai 2021 hat Frau Choi das SmartCase auf den Markt gebracht, ein innovatives Flötenetui, das leicht, langlebig, sicher ist und in normale Taschen passt und den Wunsch jedes Flötisten erfüllt. Im August 2021 hat sie die Flötenlehrbücher für Anfänger (Seoul Music Publishing) veröffentlicht, die es in kürzester Zeit in die Bestsellerliste geschafft haben. Sie schreibt auch Artikel für das Flute Talk Magazine in den USA und das Auditorium Magazine in Korea.

Zwischen den Konzerten unterrichtet und leitet Frau Choi gerne junge Studenten in Meisterklassen. Zuvor unterrichtete sie unter anderem Meisterkurse an der Juilliard University, dem Curtis Institute of Music, der Indiana University, der Colburn School of Music, der Manhattan School of Music, der Florida University, der Harvard University und der Universität für Musik in Wien.

Als dritte Generation einer klassischen Musikfamilie in Korea aufgewachsen, begann sie schon in jungen Jahren Klavier und Geige zu lernen. Ein Jahr nachdem sie als Neunjährige die Flöte in die Hand genommen hatte, spielte sie das Haydn-Konzert in D-Dur mit einem örtlichen Orchester. Sie wurde die letzte Schülerin des legendären Julius Baker, als sie mit sechzehn Jahren am Curtis Institute of Music aufgenommen wurde. Frau Choi setzte ihr Studium an der Juilliard School bei Jeffrey Khaner fort und hatte später Privatunterricht bei Thomas Robertello und Robert Stallman.

Frau Chois Auftritt wurde während der Feierlichkeiten zu den Olympischen Winterspielen 2018 in PyeongChang, Korea, gezeigt, und sie ist die offizielle Kulturbotschafterin ihrer Heimatstadt Daejeon, Korea. 

Frau Choi spricht Englisch, Deutsch und Koreanisch und lebt zwischen Konzertreisen in Österreich. Sie hat eine starke Präsenz auf YouTube, Facebook und Instagram und kommuniziert gerne regelmäßig mit ihren Fans. 
Erfahren Sie mehr: https://www.jasminechoi.com/

Jasmine Choi Masterclass

  
Flute Center of New York  presents:
 

Jasmine Choi

Jasmine Choi Masterclass
Premiering February 18, 2022, 5PM ET
on Facebook and Youtube
--

Flutist Jasmine Choi is one of the most celebrated flutists of our time, known for her virtuosity and refined musicianship, as well as her adventurous projects. She has performed across the globe in a variety of genres from classical solo, chamber, and orchestral to experimental, jazz, and pop.

A former principal flute of the Vienna Symphony under Fabio Luisi and associate principal of the Cincinnati Symphony under Paavo Jarvi,  Ms. Choi has performed as a soloist with the Vienna Symphony, Salzburg Mozarteum, Philadelphia Orchestra, Cincinnati Symphony, St.Petersburg Philharmonic, Czech Philharmonic, Salzburg Mozart Players, Berlin Symphony, New York Classical Players, Seoul Philharmonic, Orchestra Ensemble Kanazawa, as well as at recitals in Paris, Vienna, London, Munich, Geneve, New York, Tokyo, Seoul, and Hong Kong.

Her infinite curiosity has also led her to make her own arrangements of major works, including the Mendelssohn and Tchaikovsky violin concertos, as well as performing new works by living composers. She has published numerous arrangements of hers through Theodore Presser Company, and has premiered more than 10 flute concertos written for her.

Ms. Choi has been the Artist-In-Residence of the New York Classical Players for three consecutive seasons(2018-2021), and served as the Artist-In-Residence at Sejong Arts Center in Seoul for its 40th anniversary season.

She has recorded several solo CDs under the Sony Classical label, including Mozart Flute Concertos, Fantasy (Virtuoso Flute Works), Claude Bolling Jazz Suite, Mozart Flute Quartets, Works of Brahms, Schumann, Reinecke. Other recordings include Telemann Fantasies, Love in Paris (from a live recital), Trio Joy (free improvisation), and three single albums including her arrangement of Paganini's Caprice No.24, Clarke's Great Train Race and Reichert's Encore Solo.

Since the outbreak of the COVID-19 pandemic, Ms. Choi has started sharing educational videos on YouTube for the advanced flutists, as well as collaborating with young pianists and introducing them in order to kickstart their careers, and interviewing leading classical musicians via live streamings and recorded videos.

In May 2021, Ms. Choi has launched the SmartCase, an innovative flute case that is light, durable, secure and fits to normal bags, making every flutist's wish come true. In August 2021, she has published the flute method books for beginners (Seoul Music Publishing) which made it to the bestseller chart in no time. She also writes articles for Flute Talk Magazine in the US and the Auditorium Magazine in Korea.

Between concerts, Ms. Choi enjoys teaching and guiding young students in master classes. She has previously taught master classes at Juilliard, the Curtis Institute of Music, Indiana University, Colburn School of Music, Manhattan School of Music, Florida University, Harvard University, Universität für Musik in Vienna, among others.

Growing up as a third generation of a classical music family in Korea, she started learning piano and violin from the very early age. A year after picking up the flute as a nine-year-old, she performed the Haydn Concerto in D Major with a local orchestra. She became the last pupil of the legendary Julius Baker when she was accepted at Curtis Institute of Music at sixteen years old. Ms. Choi continued her studies at Juilliard School with Jeffrey Khaner, and later had private studies with Thomas Robertello and Robert Stallman.

Ms. Choi’s performance was featured during the 2018 Winter Olympics’ celebrations in PyeongChang, Korea, and she is the official Cultural Ambassador of her hometown Daejeon, Korea. 

Ms. Choi speaks English, German and Korean, and resides in Austria between concert tours. She has a strong presence on YouTube, Facebook and Instagram, and enjoys communicating regularly with her fans. 
Learn more: https://www.jasminechoi.com/